The three gunas explain the manifestation of form. The gunas show how phenomena start manifesting by combining and coalescing, followed by transformation, then decay, and eventually combing again. Impermanence of all reality is demonstrated by this process. The gunas relate to the five elements within nature which are Vayu (air), Akasha (either), Apas (water), Tejas (fire) and Prittivi (earth).

  1. Rajas = transformation - overactive or emotionally passionate state
  2. Sattva =  balance - a calm equanimous state - compassionate & wise
  3. Tamas = coalescence - a dull lethargic state
  1. Vayu
  2. Akasha 
  3. Apas
  4. Tejas
  5. Prittivi

Copyright © 2017